Huskies are 2017 Coy Cup Champions

The Whitehorse Huskies are 2017 Coy Cup Champions

They didn’t do it the easy way, but when you’re raising a championship trophy on home ice it hardly matters how you got there.

The Nuway Crushing Whitehorse Huskies are the 2017 Coy Cup Champions, after defeating the Kelowna Sparta 7-4 in Saturday’s final. The Sparta had the bye to the final while Whitehorse had to play an extra game to get in, but for the Huskies the extra game only seemed to motivate them further.

In front of a packed house at Takhini Arena, Kane Dawe opened the scoring for the hometown Huskies less than six minutes in. Then Simon Nugent leaned into a shot from the point that beat Tyler Briggs to make it 2-0. 

The Sparta got one back on the power play thanks to Aaron Buat, but Derek Klassen responded not too long after restoring the two-goal lead. In the final minutes of the opening frame, the Sparta added another power play marker and it was 3-2 after one.

A great tilt between Rob Stuckey and Kelly Loudon highlighted the second period and had the fans on their feet. Stuckey picked up the decision and drew a power play for his team, when the Sparta were given the extra minor. 

On the ensuing man advantage, Kevin Petovello made it 4-2. Ted Stephens also notched a power play goal in the second period on a beautiful tic-tac-toe play. Jason Deleurme found the back of the net for the Sparta near the end of the period and it was 5-3 Whitehorse heading into the second intermission.

With Henderson in the box for boarding midway through the third, the Sparta narrowed the Huskies lead to one. Huskies goalie Jon Olthuis made some big stops to keep the score at 5-4, and then Petovello and Klassen combined on a filthy short-handed goal to give the team huge insurance. Petovello made a nice defensive play at the line to start the odd man rush and Klassen made no mistake burying the pass. 

The Sparta pulled their goalie for the extra attacker but Stephens added the empty netter and it was time to celebrate.
Stephens was named Tournament MVP by BC Hockey.

It’s the first Coy Cup win for Whitehorse, and the first time since it’s inception that the Coy Cup has been awarded outside of BC.